FEBRUARY 11-13, 2022      


       QUESTIONS? WANT TO HELP?  Send an email to            

                    ButtonU@nationalbuttonsociety.org

LISTINGS ARE EASTERN TIME ZONE

See the session descriptions below the schedule.

Winter Button Fest

ONLINE EVENT


FREE for Members   $7 Non-Members

MEMBERS need not register. To join any session, click the links on the Button U page after logging into the NBS members website. 

NON-MEMBERS register at the top of this page. Questions? ButtonU@NationalButtonSociety.org


WINTER BUTTON FEST

FEBRUARY 11, Friday

CHAT -- Starting a Collection: The Basics                   Pam Warren

    FEB 11 Fri    NOON Eastern    11am Central    10am Mountain    9am Pacific

    Basic tips to make your collection enjoyable and less overwhelming! 


Making Button Cards & Valentines                       Anne Buckingham

    FEB 11 Fri   NOON Eastern    11am Central    10am Mountain    9am Pacific

    An interactive session 


Button U BB20-7 -- Egyptian Buttons                          Joan Lindsay

    FEB 11 Fri  1:30pm Eastern   12:30pm Central  11:30am Mntn  10:30am Pacific


Button U BB12-1.3 -- The Four Faces of Phenolic Resin Buttons--                                        aka Bakelite  __                    Jocelyn Howells

    FEB 11 Fri   3pm Eastern    2pm Central    1pm Mountain    NOON Pacific

    Did you know there are FOUR forms of phenolic resin (Bakelite)

    buttons? Most collectors are only aware of one. Get ready to learn

    then re-examine your buttons, as Joss teaches you all four.


CHAT -- Waistcoat Button Forum         Pam Luke & Simone Kincaid

    FEB 11 Fri  4:30pm Eastern    3:30pm Central    2:30pm Mntn    1:30pm Pacific

    Bring your coolest waistcoat treasures and let's talk!


Button U 401 -- Turn of the Century Buttons          Merry Jo Thoele

    FEB 11 Fri    6pm Eastern     5pm Central      4pm Mountain    3pm Pacific


CHAT -- Identifying Your ODD Materials                        Beth Schaut

    FEB 11 Fri    8pm Eastern     7pm Central      6pm Mountain     5pm Pacific

    Beth never tires of tracking down and researching ALL the materials

    and finishes we find in our buttons. Her research is meticulous and

    thorough, and her passion is contagious!

FEBRUARY 12, Saturday

CHAT -- Changed into a Button                                     Sallie Gibson

    FEB 12 Sat    NOON Eastern    11am Central    10am Mountain    9am Pacific

    Costume trim, curtain tiebacks, studs, cuff links, buckles, earrings,

    hatpins, brooches-- what HASN"T been turned into a button!  Learn

    how to spot the imposters. 


Welcome to NBS and the NBS Website                          Pam Warren

    FEB 12 Sat   NOON Eastern    11am Central    10am Mountain    9am Pacific

    An interactive session presenting an overview of NBS history, member

    benefits, social media, and how to connect to the button community at

    the national, state and local levels.


Button U 201A -- Materials ID    Simone Kincaid & Matthew Brown

    FEB 12 Sat  1:30pm Eastern   12:30pm Central  11:30am Mntn  10:30am Pacific

    Basic tips for identifying common button materials and age, pointing

    out common misidentification mistakes. Encore presentation!


Button U BB2-0 -- Ceramics 101                             Susan Vincenzes

    FEB 12 Sat  3pm Eastern    2pm Central    1pm Mountain    NOON Pacific

    Identification of the basic ceramic materials: earthenware, stoneware,

    porcelain (hard & soft paste), satsuma. As a researcher and new

    collector, Susan's approach helps the novice and long time collector.


CHAT--Look What I Found in this Can of Buttons!  Lewis Lombardi

    FEB 12 Sat  4:30pm Eastern    3:30pm Central    2:30pm Mntn    1:30pm Pacific

    Bring your oddities and let's talk!


Button U BB10-14.1.1 -- Pigeon Eye Buttons        Susannah Jordan

    FEB 12 Sat    6pm Eastern     5pm Central      4pm Mountain    3pm Pacific

    These charming small metal buttons aren't as simple as they seem!


CHAT --  Dating Black Glass Buttons                                  Yessy Byl

    FEB 12 Sat    8pm Eastern     7pm Central      6pm Mountain     5pm Pacific

    The NBS Blue Book provides a way of classifying buttons according to

    age as well as materials, subjects etc.  So what clues can you look for

    when trying to decide if your black glass button was made before 1918

    (which would make it Division I) as opposed to post 1918 (Div. III).  

        Of course, you can throw up your hands and say it doesn’t matter

    (which would make it Division IX) but still….. it’s interesting to have

    some idea as to when that black glass button was made!

        This session will give you some pointers on what to look for when

    solving the puzzle of, “How old is this black glass button?”  

FEBRUARY 13, Sunday

CHAT -- How Old are My Pastes?                                   Sue Dickout

    FEB 13 Sun    NOON Eastern    11am Central    10am Mountain    9am Pacific

    There are easy ways to judge whether your paste and glitz buttons are

    18th, 19th, or 20th century.  Bring some of your favorite paste buttons

    to learn about, or just to show off their sparkle!


JUNIORS--Let's Get Together with Miss Vicki        Vicki MacTavish

    FEB 13 Sun   NOON Eastern    11am Central    10am Mountain    9am Pacific

    It's time to learn, share and chat!


Button U 201B -- Materials ID    Simone Kincaid & Matthew Brown

    FEB 13 Sun 1:30pm Eastern   12:30pm Central  11:30am Mntn  10:30am Pacif.

    Basic tips for identifying common button materials and age, pointing

    out common misidentification mistakes. Encore presentation!


Button U 202 -- Cleaning and Repairing Buttons         Sallie Gibson

    FEB 13 Sun  3pm Eastern    2pm Central    1pm Mountain    NOON Pacific

    An encore presentation from SallieIt is a challenge to clean a button

    without doing harm. Learn to safely clean, repair and protect your

    buttons from a pro!


CHAT -- China Buttons      Jody Behrbaum, Inga Ladd, Janet White

    FEB 13 Sun 4:30pm Eastern    3:30pm Central    2:30pm Mntn    1:30pm Pacific

    A popular topic and team returns to continue the discussion!

CREATIVE -- Making Button Books                               Joy Journeay

    FEB 11 Fri    NOON Eastern    11am Central    10am Mountain    9am Pacific

    You'll need two big matching sew through buttons! 

Button U BB15-1 -- A History of Bone Buttons   Sylvia Liska Durell

    FEB 13 Sun   6pm Eastern     5pm Central      4pm Mountain    3pm Pacific

    You'll never forget the images you see here! 


CHAT -- There's Magic in Poke Boxes!              Lori Franz & Friends

    FEB 13 Sun   8pm Eastern     7pm Central      6pm Mountain     5pm Pacific

    Have you seen it? Keeping it to yourself? Discover some exciting

    buttons -- sit a spell, open your eyes and let your fingers poke a bit

    in a box of buttons! No matter how seasoned the dealer, some 

    inconspicuous treasures get past their scrutiny and into poke boxes!


© National Button Society
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software